So Early…

Ohayōgozaimasu

Early. It’s summer and everyone is trying to get to sleep by 11:00. Back at home I would have laughed and stayed up 3 more hours. Now you can always find someone in bed by 10:00 trying to get 8 hours of sleep. I have found that so many things can be done between 7:00 (wake up Japan) and 11:00 (sleeping in, in the US).

Monday was an eventful day. The first day of VBS! I gave a small devotional , talking about purpose. One verse I shared was 1 Corinthians 9:19-22 “Though I am free and belong to no one, I have made myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law.  To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some.” Just a reminder that showing respect to the Japanese people, by following so customs and using Japanese whenever possible is important to win over both the kids and their parents.

After, we went down and met with the Suita Bible Gospel Church staff. Everyone is kind and do their best to listen and speak English. I could tell that they were all excited for the day, and soon the kids started showing up. The day went by fast. The skip, songs, games, crafts, and message went by in a blur. The skit was half Japanese and half English but the kids seemed to enjoy it never the less. I was shocked that so many kids participated during the songs. They picked up the hand motions super fast and even danced during free time. I also helped with games and it was encouraging to see all the kids open up more and just have fun. The staff from the church helped so much and made it easy to get to know the kids. Although the kids know very little English we somehow got through the day, although afterwards all of us just wanted to go directly to sleep.

Helping lead the worship songs and games gave me a newfound respect for all the leaders and helpers at my church. I got to see first hand how hectic and crazy it is behind the scenes. Everyone puts in so much work and effort everyday. Playing with the kids and watching them,  brought me back to when I was a kid. I remember how much love i felt climbing over the smiling, older guys and how everything was perfectly prepared for us. Now I can only hope they feel the same way.

IMG_1415IMG_1410

~Matthew

3 thoughts on “So Early…

  1. Thanks for the update, Matthew. It’s nice hearing the lessons you are learning as you serve. 🙂 Love you and praying for you and the team!

  2. Hi Matt, thanks for sharing how you have more of an appreciation for those who serve at PVBC. You bring such great energy and enthusiasm to VBS. Blessings, Sharon

  3. Nice post Matthew. Being able to relate and communicate is a key thought in Pauls passage. Not to change who you are but to understand how who you are can connect with the people you seek to serve. Paul knew what it meant to be a Jew and a Roman citizen. You know what it means to have the same fears as the Japanese. Fear of failure, fear of looking bad, not getting into a good school, not getting a good job, fear of shame. This is “sin” for a Japanese, the true definition, “missing the mark”. Know how Jesus deals with these things in your life and you can “become” Japanese and help them see how Jesus will help them too.

Leave a comment